True Humility and George Bush

I want to begin these reflections by declaring that I am united in love with the spirit of George Bush.  I believe him to be, as I am and as those who are close to me and whom I cherish are, precious and special and worthy of respect.

I also believe that true humility is knowing exactly who one is and how one relates to others.  Real respect for others means that I appreciate as much about them as I am able.  I do not respect myself or others by failing to see who I am and who they are.  And, as a citizen, I have responsibilities to make decisions and to take actions.

A political commentator, whose article I read in the past year but whose identity escapes me at the moment I regret to say, remarked that Bush is “embarrassingly inarticulate.”  Having some considerable knowledge about the stages of use of language, I can assert that beyond being inarticulate, George Bush demonstrates a level of language use that does not permit him to use English successfully in professional situations.  He is unable to use English to discuss abstract topics and to support a hypothesis on an abstract level, things that the head of a nation must be able to do.

A look at a transcript of his unprepared remarks in response to a question, nearly any question, shows complete language breakdown, that is to say an absence of sentences with subjects and verbs, the absence of expressions of complete thoughts.  His language becomes nonsense.  I wish I had an example to post here, and I will see if I can find some.  I was astonished to read the transcripts I did.

When people are trying to use language at levels they cannot sustain, language breakdown occurs.  I have been present at many interviews of speakers of limited language ability and heard it happen time after time.  The speaker sometimes begins stammering, always uses incomplete sentences, talks nonsense.  Just what Bush produces.

An educated native speaker of a language, as a president ought to be, by contrast sustains hypotheses on abstract topics and uses skillfully the complex sentence structure with subordinate clauses required to express complex ideas.  Even a small sample of the speech of any living past president of the United States is strikingly more developed than that of George Bush.

It is not surprising that he has had the career he has, a series of failures that are saved from complete disasters by the intervention of his family’s powerful and rich friends.  George Bush has not succeeded in academics, in the military, nor in business.  He has only had what appears to be success in politics in that he has been surrounded by people who have been able to use him and his connections to get him elected.  His failures in the political arena are as striking as those in academia, in the military, and in business.  He has appointed incompetent cronies and failed in every area.  American historians have rated him among the worst presidents, if not the worst, in the history of the United States.  They were not speaking politically, but historically.  Given what he has done with the country, he ranks among the worst three.

I have experienced a few times being in a situation completely over my head, of undertaking a project or activity that I was unqualified to fulfill.  In some cases, I have been able to get help and learn how to do what I could not do in the beginning.

Only twice that I remember was I either unable or unwilling to get help, and I suffered complete failure in those instances.  I felt rather like George Bush looked when he was told that there had been attacks on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon: frightened, caught, paralyzed.

In both cases in my life, someone else recognized my incompetence and had authority to suggest I withdraw from the activity.  On the one hand, I felt some shame and embarrassment at my failure; but I also felt some very great measure of relief that I no longer had to struggle with things beyond my competence.

I have often wondered if George Bush has the self knowledge to know that he is over his head in the job of president.  Has a lifetime of being bailed out dulled his capacity to look clearly at himself?  Perhaps.  But I suspect that there are moments when he is aware, as that one caught so vividly on tape, of not being up to the job.  Those moments, if he experiences them, must be painful, so painful that they are rapidly suppressed.  Since no one around him wants him to change, he is not encouraged to look at those moments.  On the contrary.

Whether or not he knows his limitations, I cannot ignore them.  He is not only painfully inarticulate, he is painfully incapable of doing the job.

I was fortunate to have persons with authority to do so, tell me to let someone else who was competent take over.  It was such a relief for me.  In my heart of hearts, I knew that I was not able and did not really want to do those projects.  If I had, I would probably have gotten the skills I needed.

The Congress of the United States is empowered to tell a president that he is incapable of continuing when his or her limitations lead, as George Bush’s have, to high crimes and misdemeanors.  Congressman John Conyers has drawn up a list of more than twenty laws that Bush has violated.  Bush acknowledges publicly that he has violated some of them and claims not to be bound by them.

It is time for the Congress to remind George Bush that he is required to abide by the laws, just as Supreme Court Justice Kennedy said to the American Bar Association meeting in the past few weeks.  It is time for the Congress to show the world that they are aware of his limitations and of the depredations that those limitations have led to.

It did not serve me nor the other people involved in the two personal endeavors I mentioned previously for me to continue to fail to do them well.  It was a relief to many when I was asked to withdraw.  It does not serve anyone for George Bush to continue to fail as president.

There are those who have used Bush’s incompetence to profit financially and those whose lust for power is gratified by continuing to keep him in office, but I do not believe that even those people’s interests are really served by his continuing.  Greed for profit and lust for power are not good even for those who benefit from them.

It is past time for the nation to use its Constitutional power to remove Bush and his administration from office.  I have called on my elected officials to do that.  In all humility, I believe it is the wisest course of action for George Bush and for everyone concerned.  Much is at stake and many are concerned.

I am going to do everything I can to see that George Bush and his administration are removed from office, not because I do not respect him as a person, but because I do.

One Response to “True Humility and George Bush”

  1. allvegetables Says:

    Thank you Nancy for this entry.

    It is the first written piece where i have clearly read the necessary distinction between George Bush, child of God like everyone else who loves his children just like all people love their children, and George Bush, a man unqualified to be President of our country who needs to be held accountable, like everyone else, if he has violated laws.

    In finding truth and manifesting God’s will, i find the saying “principles above personalities” needs to be remembered. i just found myself saying this at work a few days ago when discussing a problem with some colleagues. As i was giving an example of the problem, i found my co-workers more interested in knowing the “who” of my story rather than the “what”. they seemed annoyed at me for not revealing identities. there was no need to reveal them in keeping with the purpose of our discussion – solving a problem. i find this common lure of gossip and ego dressed in a myriad of cunning and clever disguises which includes most of the political rhetoric i hear and read these days from politicians of both parites as well as the media.

    Based on the state of affairs in this country that i love and is my home, the collective “we” want to be right more than we want to be happy. Nancy, the person you are showing up as every day and particularly so in these days spent at Camp Crawford, is taking a stand in wanting not just the United States, but the world to be a place of authentic happiness. And for this, i give you my sincerest thanks and deep gratitude. i treasure you dearly. tl

Leave a Reply

