REPORT: VOTING

It does no good for me to speak out against the Bush administration’s disastrous policies and its illegal, immoral war, torture, and its abrogation of our rights and freedoms, if I do not exercise my right to vote.  I want to report to you that I did vote today.

Here in New York this year, the Democratic primary really is the election for US Senator from New York, so this was as especially important vote.  It is also important for the Congressional Representative from my district.  He has been the only member of Congress representing me whom I have found active in resisting the Bush regime and he is retiring after many years of devoted service.  His replacement is important because John Conyers has drawn up a list of over twenty impeachable offenses and needs support to introduce articles in the House.

I keep informed on things generally, but this year I have been more than ususally assiduous in finding out about candidates.

I can report to you that I did my civic duty.  I am acting in the most important arena I can as well as speaking out and being visible.

If you live in New York or another state with a primary today, did you vote?  If you did not, I ask you why?

I repeat here the words of the German pastor who waited too late:

They came first for the Communists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist.

Then they came for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew.

Then they came for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Catholics,
and I didn’t speak up because I was a Protestant.

Then they came for me,
and by that time no one was left to speak up.

Leave a Reply

