Doing Something

I just telephoned my Congresswoman and my two US senators to remind them that I will not vote for anyone who is not actively working to end the illegal occupation of Iraq now and restore our democracy beginning with impeachment of Bush and Cheney.  I received word that Dennis Kucinich is working on the floor of the House of Representatives right now to bring about a vote on impeachment.  It seemed like a good moment to call.

I keep doing what I can.  I keep trying to have faith that our efforts can be fruitful.  Even when I don’t have that faith, I keep taking actions. 

A conversation with an old friend who is a union member and laments what has happened to the unions in this country was revealing.  He is distressed about what he sees, is suffering from the effects of this economy, and still he has no sympathy for activists. 

For my part, I was frightened that he alludes to the ability of humans to endure injustice and oppression, managing to survive somehow in places in Africa that are now experiencing some of the worst human rights abuses in history.   He did not mention Iraq, but certainly, some people are managing to survive there, too, in spite of the horrors the US is inflicting right now.  He seems to think that we should just endure this and hope for the best.

Is that what many Americans believe, too?  What has happened to us?

I received an email from Barbara which includes this quotation:

“Here in America we are descended in blood and in spirit from revolutionists and rebels – men and women who dare to dissent from accepted doctrine. As their heirs, may we never confuse honest dissent with disloyal subversion.”  –  Dwight David Eisenhower

The Bush regime has worked skillfully to suppress dissent.  Can we connect to our ancestors and our roots and speak and act for the good of our nation? 

Leave a Reply

