Day of Mourning, July 4, 2008

It was two years ago on July 4th that I decided to go to Camp Casey to do what I could to resist US war and torture and to stand with others who work to resist the Bush regime and restore our democracy.

Katrina followed my Camp Casey experience immediately.

I have protested, marched, rallied, met with others, continued to write and call law makers and representatives, written journalism. More information about US war crimes and crimes against humanity has been published. The US Congress changed from one party’s majority to the other. The media has selected two candidates for president. Fundamentally things are worse.

Brave US service women and men have spoken out in Winter Soldier and before Congress about the truth of the occupations. More people have gone to jail for peacefully demanding justice. Many people continue to work for justice, peace, and the restoration of our democracy, but little change ensues.

This year, I mourn. I put on black. On the Fourth itself, I wore the black shirt with the German student resister’s challenge “We will not be quiet” translated into Arabic. The only color in my clothes was an orange scarf to remind me of those being tortured and illegally imprisoned. The Arabic shirt led to a conversation with one of our Arab American neighbors.

I did not watch fireworks, picnic, nor celebrate in any way. I mourn.

Since some of the Founders were Quakers and the Quaker City of Philadelphia which David and I visited just after the elections of 2006 to participate in an event was the scene of much of the birth of this nation, I decided to do a modified Quaker activity. I sat still and quiet for a half hour.

That was my Fourth of July 2008.

How did you mark the day this year?

One Response to “Day of Mourning, July 4, 2008”

  1. nancy Says:

    Jack sent this:

    “For the Fourth of July, Barbara and I spent a four day retreat with a Federation of Reconciliation group of Peace Lovers on the Olympic Peninsula. Included was an hour Quaker ceremony of quiet meditation.

    I try my best. I think that is all that can be reasonably expected.”

    Many thanks, Jack, for all you do.

Leave a Reply

