Defunding US Aggression

Image1.jpg

As others have, I have been contacting members of Congress for years urging them to stop illegal US aggression by defunding the budgets that the Bush regime and now the Obama regime present.   Unfortunatley, the Congress never does.

I decided that the time has come for me to take action on this issue.  I decided not to pay all of my federal taxes this year.  A group online had information about how to do this.  I filed my return as usual and included a letter saying that I would not pay my taxes because all my other efforts to stop my country from engaging in illegal aggression have failed utterly and this is one more step I can take.

Years ago Henry David Thoreau refused to pay taxes during another war.  He said about that:

“If a thousand [people] were not to pay their tax-bills this year, that would not be a violent and bloody measure, as it would be to pay them, and enable the State to commit violence and shed innocent blood. This is, in fact, the definition of a peaceable revolution, if any such is possible.”

My letter to the IRS said that less of my money will go to death and destruction and to violence against innocent children, women, and men who have never harmed me not any American.

I understand that the IRS will try to collect the money.  I will keep you informed here about what this one woman peaceful action leads to.

Leave a Reply

